Call for Contributions

Full text

IxD&A aims to offer an interdisciplinary arena where everybody can present top level researches and discuss ideas on the future of technology mediated experiences in the field of communication, learning, working, entertainment, healthcare, etc...) a future that can be made possible by a joint effort in research and education.
IxD&A, indeed, offers the ideal forum for meeting between frontier research, education, cutting edge technology development and application.

IxD&A is expected to cover future and state-of-the-art technologies, theoretical concepts, field trials, ongoing research projects, cultural media studies and innovative applications. We encourage cross-disciplinary contributions from interaction designers, technology developers, computer scientists, cognitive scientists, anthropologists, designers and architects, educators, researchers and practitioners to address new trends and challenges in interactive system design, nomadism & ubiquity, personalization and contextualization, identities and glocalities, mixed/enhanced environments, design for experiences, experience styles and monitoring, aesthetic interaction, etc.

Editorial policy

IxD&A is an open access journal, peer-reviewed, that implements the Gold Open Access (OA) road to its contents with no charge to the authors (see also Copyright policy).
IxD&A adopts a continuous submission process. The articles will be published immediately after their acceptance. In the following months, then, they become part of a volume, at the end of each quarter: March, June, October and December.

Besides the research (long and short) and position papers, all regularly peer-reviewed, IxD&A will also accept interviews and reviews (books, events, etc.) of particular value that will be only light reviewed by the editorial board.

For authors' guidelines, please, refer to the IxD&A website.

Main Topics of Interest

  • Computer mediated experiences
  • Cooperative/collaborative/social environments for learning, working, entertainment, etc ...
  • Design for the experience
  • Experience's dimensions (physical, cognitive, social, emotional, etc...)
  • Experience styles, qualities and their monitoring
  • From Media literacy toward Design literacy: strategies, process, methodologies and tools
  • Future visions, concepts and practical realizations anticipating them
  • Interaction design and human computer interaction
  • Aesthetics of interaction
  • Balancing and supporting local culture, communities and personal identities
  • New design processes, methodologies and technologies for collaborative learning and working
  • Perceptive, reactive and co-evolving virtual environments and architectures
  • Perceptive, reactive and co-evolving physical environments and architectures
  • System design, distributed environments and complexity
  • Sustainability of the design

    Expected length of contributions

    long papers: 15-30 pages
    short papers: 5-8 pages
    position papers: 5-12 pages
    All papers will be blindly peer-reviewed by at least two (2) reviewers.

    Interviews: max 5 pages
    Reviews: max 5 pages
    Before to submit an interview we advice the proponents to contact by email the editors.

    Essays: more than 60 pages
    Essays' authors, if prefer, can submit a preliminary proposal containing at least: front-page, preface or introduction, TOC and a representative chapter;
    all essays' proposals will be blindly peer-reviewed by at least two (2) reviewers.


    * Scientific editor
    Carlo Giovannella (ISIM_garage, Dept. of Educational Science & Technology - University of Rome Tor Vergata)

    * Associate scientific editors
    Sabine Graf (Athabasca University)
    Effie Law (University of Leicester/ETH Zurich)
    Alke Martens (PH Schwäbisch Gmünd University of Education, Germany)
    Patrizia Marti (University of Siena)

    Advisory board

    Nikolaos Avouris (University of Patras)
    Sebastiano Bagnara (University of Sassari)
    Simone DJ Barbosa (PUC - Rio)
    Thomas Binder (The Danish Design School)
    Rosa Maria Bottino (ITD - CNR)
    Rafael Calvo (University of Sidney)
    Antonio Camurri (University of Genova)
    John M. Carroll (Penn State University)
    Cristiano Castelfranchi (ISTC - CNR)
    Augusto Celentano (University Ca' Foscari - Venice )
    Nian-Shing Chen (National Sun Yat-sen University)
    Adrian Cheok (National University of Singapore - Keio University)
    Luigina Ciolfi (University of Limerick)
    Antonella de Angeli (University of Trento)
    Monica Divitini (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
    Anna Esposito (University of Salerno)
    Frank Fischer (LMU Munich)
    Geraldine Fitzpatrick  (Technische Universität Wien)
    Kinshuk (Athabasca University)
    Jorn Messeter (Malmö University)
    Marcelo Milrad (Linnaeus University)
    Felix Mödritscher (Vienna University of Economics and Business)
    Anton Nijholt  (University of Twente)
    Lars Oestreicher (Uppsala University)
    Tessy C. Pargman (Stockholm University)
    Elvira Popescu (University of Craiova)
    Janet C. Read  (University of Central Lancaster)
    Pier Cesare Rivoltella  (Catholic University of Milan)
    Pier Giuseppe Rossi  (University of Macerata)
    Demetrios Sampson (University of Piraeus)
    Stefania Serafin (Aalborg University Copenhagen)
    Marcus Specht (Open University The Netherlands)
    Mikael Wiberg (Umeå University)
    Martin Wolpers (Fraunhofer FIT)
    Massimo Zancanaro (FBK - Trento)
    Imran Zualkernan (American University of Sharjah)
  • News